Sign in to follow this  
karmagarda

Songs advice

Hi All!

Newbie here. I have a question around a couple of songs I recorded some time ago if you wouldn't mind sparing a minute or 2 for me!

I have a lot of songs gathering dust for a long while, 2 in particular I managed to get recorded... but the usual story - family / work / ... life happened! These songs and a load of ideas are now something I'm looking to start developing. The 2 songs that were recorded were done so with a slight country edge to them, although I'm not sure on the rules in general conversation on how many songs you can post a day so I'll link the main song I'd be interested in people's opinion on initially (although there are only 2 on my soundclick page if it's ok to discuss both?). Anyway, if I am limited to 1 song on my soundclick can you listen to "Time":

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=470473

My original versions were very acoustic so were more of a "romantic" rock, but when in the recording studio this happened to be the direction they took. So this is throwing my idea on what genre I'd put them in. So, my questions are as follows:

• What genre would you put them in in their current format? I'm not averse to any genre really, I'l accept whatever they might be suitable to.
  • Are there any publishers or companies you'd recommend that are currently accepting submissions that are worthwhile (considering the song I shared)? I'm a complete newbie on publishing so have no idea. But I hear the bigger companies just bin most stuff unless they've taken a DNA sample from you, but maybe there are smaller publishers that you have a better shot at getting stuff pitched with? Should I just spam Nashville with 10 million CDs?  (just kidding!)

Thanks in advance!

Conor.

Thanks David. Irish Pop/Folk might not be a bad punt... seeing as I'm Irish and there's a country/folk twist on the recording!