Good day to everyone at Muse Songwriters,

I am an improvisational musician who wants to learn more about music, and how its created, by interacting with other musicians. I don't have a recognizable style, not something that can be categorized. So much so is that the case that when I auditioned for a music university, I was told that they loved me, but had no idea what to do with me. They had absolutely no idea where I stood on a musical level, and they had no idea where to fit me into their school as far as what major I might fit into. During the audition for one particular major, we were in the room talking about other majors, trying to figure out where they could put me. They couldn't figure it out. 

In the years since I have started playing my instrument, I have been "in the closet" per se. I have not been around any musicians, and though I believe in and love my music, I can hear that that element of interaction with other musicians is missing from it. There is more I want to learn before I want to perform and play my music publicly. 

Thank you for your interest up to this point, now here is my question:

What starter-level job in music might I consider? 

I cannot stand the "music business" side, the idea of money and fame and record contracts and exploitation under the guise of publicity and success. 

Although I did say I am a very unique musician, I am skilled in the instrument I play, and I am gifted with the ability to learn by ear quickly, improvise, and remember songs l learnt by ear. I am also extraordinarily creative. I am not a virtuoso however, and the idea of getting a restaurant gig and playing music I really couldn't care less about, or learning very recognizable/skillful pieces just for the sake of appeasing an audience disgusts me. 

I don't have a college degree yet. I don't like teaching, and where I live, teaching in private music is very competitive.