Short Order Kook

La la las (or the like) in songs

Recently I submitted a song with chorus' made of la, la, las which are a form of "non-lexical vocables" (a new term I just learned from the great wikipedia).  I'm not a prolific songwriter and this would be the first time I thought to do such a thing. Does anyone else here use them, or do you try to stay away from using them for any reason?  When do you decide when to use them?  It's something I never thought about before, but there are many instances of songs that I can think of that incorporate these.  Actually some of my most favorite sing-a-long tunes have these in them and it seems like they can often be very catchy and seemingly make songs more accessible to listeners.

I have a song, well only lyrics for the chorus so far actually, but really like it and plan to finish it soon. The chorus starts with...

Oh oh oh oh you've got it all

Which looks nuts on paper, but actually really works. It has a real singalong quality to it and I do like it a lot. The next lines are pretty dark in comparison and the contrast between singalong nursery rhyme and the dark lines to follow seem to marry well together.

• Like 1

I am also working on a song that uses the ohs.

It is the first time I have ever done it but it feels right for the song.

• Like 1

Yes, they work great in songs. Listeners love the sing along aspect of them. Listen to fellow Muse Songwriters member ScenesFromPalacio. I haven’t listened to his recent songs lately. But many of his past contests songs use this very affectively. I generally like hearing it if it’s done correctly but I hardly if ever use it in my own songs. 

• Like 1

2 things popped in my head after reading this: