Triffid

Recording/Mixing feedback on my song

Triffid    6

Hello... I have this posted in the song feedback section too.  But... I've been tinkering for hours on this all week and it still doesn't sound great to me.  I feel like the low end may be "muddy", but I'm rather new to this so I don't know for sure.

Begin Again

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3EWfIc5Ik-QdVZPak9vUVplVEE/view?usp=sharing

My setup:

Pretty much this: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/steinberg-ur22-mkii-recording-pack

Macbook pro

Garageband 10

an old midi controller

Audacity

Basically my process for this was:

1. record the acoustic guitar... use one of the canned acoustic guitar sounds, adjust some settings

2. record the vocal... use the "compressed vocal" sound, adjust some settings

3. add fake bass drum (midi controlled)

4. add real shaker

5. add real tambourine

6. add fake bass (midi controlled)

7. tinker over and over and over with all the compression, reverb, eq in the tracks... no master compression or limiter though

8. export from garageband as mp3

9. open audacity and increase the volume (Base/Treble effect) because it was really low

That pretty much how I ended up with this mess... I recognize that being able to do this myself is crucial to me sharing my music... so I want to get better!

Here are a couple others I've recorded with pretty much the same process it it helps:

Show The Way

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3EWfIc5Ik-QUGl0dGJZWTBuWW8/view?usp=sharing

One Day Is Enough

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3EWfIc5Ik-QdWpiOUlDNDBBOXM/view?usp=sharing

Thanks for any help

Mike B    79

Hi Triffid, I'm at work so can't listen to your mix, I'll tell you a few things you can do differently:

1) Don't convert WAV files to MP3 until the mixing/mastering is complete.   Even at 320k bit rate, you lose a lot of digital information when you convert to MP3 (hence the smaller file size).